Living God's Love

Welcome to the Schools Pages

The School Team liaises with the 135 Anglican church schools in the Diocese of St Albans, covering five Local Authorities: the London Borough of Barnet, Bedford Borough, Central Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire and Luton. Seventeen schools are Academies. Most of the schools are primary phase, but there are five secondary schools and six middle schools which are deemed secondary.  Education is currently in a state of flux, so even these simple facts are likely to change.

The Schools Team is governed by the Diocesan Board of Education. This is a statutory body established under the Diocesan Boards of Education Measure 1991, with functions including the promotion of education consistent with the faith and practice of the Church of England, the promotion of religious education and religious worship in schools and academies, the promotion of Church schools and academies in the diocese, and advice to school governors on any matter affecting Church schools and academies.

The Board of Education of the Diocese of St Albans exists to provide support and advice to church schools throughout the Diocese.  The Diocesan Resource Centre holds resources for schools, youth work, children’s work in churches and general parish use.  The Centre is open to all churches and to church schools, community schools and private schools.


Constitution of the Diocesan Board of Education

Membership of the Diocesan Board of Education

Annual Report of the Diocesan Board of Education for 2013

Church of England Report: The Church School of the Future – March 2012

Church of England Report: A Diocesan Board of Education for the Future – July 2013