Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage
Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage

Bishop’s Council

This is a statutory body established under the Synodical Government Measure 1969.  It acts as the Standing Committee of the Synod and carries on the work of the Synod between sessions.  It advises the Bishop on matters where he seeks guidance and has, since its inception in 1970, gradually assumed an important role in the formulation of diocesan policy.  The Council has normally met four times each year.  Meetings are held at 7pm until approximately 9pm in the Diocesan Office.

The Council receives regular reports from the Board for Mission and Ministry, Agenda Group and Policy Sub-Committee.  It also responds to national consultations e.g. on the Clergy Pension scheme. It has three main sub-committees:

i) The Agenda Group which advises the Council on the agenda and arrangements for Synod.

ii) The Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Executive Committee which is made up of the three Archdeacons, one Rural Dean and two Lay Chairs, plus a member nominated from the Property Committee of the DBF.  Its role is to make better provision for the cure of souls in the Diocese and to consider proposals for pastoral reorganisation.

iii) The Closed Churches Uses Committee which is charged with finding uses for churches closed for regular worship. It usually meets twice a year on a weekday afternoon at Holywell Lodge, with occasional site visits as required.

Membership: (2022 – 2024)

Ex Officio: The Bishop; The Bishops Suffragan; The Dean; The Archdeacons; The Chairs of the Houses of Clergy and Laity of the Diocesan Synod; The Chairs of the Board of Finance, Board of Education and the Board for Mission and Ministry.

Elected by the House of Clergy: The Reverend  Canon Dr Peter Ackroyd,  the Reverend Canon Teresa Wynne and the Reverend Timothy Madeley.

Elected by the House of Laity: Mrs Janet Bird, Mr Nigel Challis, Miss Elizabeth Cranfield, Dr David Dallinger, Dr Mark Eaton, Mr Michael Jameson, Dr Jacob Kurien,  Mr David Roberts and Mr Michael Taylor.

Bishop’s Nominations: Mr Tim Fleming and three vacancies.

Secretary: Mr David White

Bishops Council Constitution

Dates of meetings in 2023:

Monday 30 January
Monday 13 March
Monday 17 July
Monday 16 October

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • Going Deeper into God
  • Making New Disciples
  • Transforming Communities