Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage
Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage

Board for Church & Society

The Board’s task, set by Synod, is to promote the whole mission of the Church in wider society throughout the Diocese:

“Our priorities are based on a holistic understanding of contextual mission including social justice, reaching out to those unconnected to church, community engagement, promotion of the gospel, discipleship and engagement with issues in wider society.”

The Board’s vision, grounded in our Christian faith, is that all people may experience the reality of God’s love.

It is actively involved in Living God’s Love and is offering support to parishes as they work through their Mission Action Plans.

The Board’s three full-time and eight part-time officers and its fifteen working groups engage actively and extensively with parishes and wider society, for example with:

  • Parishes (resourcing and supporting mission initiatives, healing, welcoming)
  • Local communities (Rural Strategy Advisory Group, workplace chaplaincy)
  • Other denominations and faiths (interfaith work, ecumenical officers)
  • International churches (Caribbean and European links. mission agencies, Harvest appeal, fair trade and world development issues)
  • The disadvantaged (community care, asylum seekers, HIV/AIDS, race equality, penal affairs, travellers and gypsies, sleep-out for the homeless)
  • Care for the environment

The Board meets five times a year, typically once on a Saturday and four weekday evenings. Only four of the elected members are required to be members of Diocesan Synod; the nomination of non-members is welcomed.


Chair:   The Rt Revd Dr N M R Beasley (Bishop of Hertford)

Vice Chair: Mrs J Bird

Lead Officer:  The Revd Canon T Lomax
Ex-Officio: The Archdeacon of Bedford
Elected:  Canon P Adams, the Revd D Collins, Mr J Rombout, the Revd B Pate, the Revd Canon P Wise,  Mrs S Roberts, Mrs G Wheatley, the Revd P Boulter, the Revd Canon E Hughes, Mrs P Humber, Mrs L Logan
Nominated by the Bishop’s Council:  Mr P Brown
Nominated by the Methodist District: tba
Co-opted members:  Mr D Sandiford, the Revd G Sentamu-Baverstock, the Revd J Hookway, the Revd E Green.

In attendance:  Mr C Neilson (Church & Community Officer)

Dates of Meetings in 2017:

Saturday 21 January
Monday 20 March
Thursday 22 June
Thursday 21 September
Wednesday 22 November

Five BCS Board members are nominated as Trustees to manage several charitable funds.

The wide-ranging activity of Groups and Officers of the Board is overseen and co-ordinated via the ‘Community and Justice Network’, led by the Vice Chair.



  • Going Deeper into God
  • Making New Disciples
  • Transforming Communities

Would you like to

Edit your details? Upload your MAP?