Bookmark and Share

Board of Education

This is a statutory body established under the Diocesan Boards of Education Measure 1991, with functions including the promotion of education consistent with the faith and practice of the Church of England, the promotion of religious education and religious worship in schools and academies, the promotion of Church schools and academies in the diocese, and advice to school governors on any matter affecting Church schools and academies.

The Board meets three times a year, at 5.30pm. Fourteen members, lay or clergy, not necessarily members of Synod, are elected to serve on the Board by Synod.


Nominated by the Bishop: The Bishop of Bedford [Chairman], The Archdeacon of Hertford, Mr David Fraser

Elected: Mr David Clout, Mr Lee Coley, Mr Tim Fleming, Mrs Julie Griffiths (Vice-Chair), the Revd Stephen Holroyd, Miss Susan Ives, the Revd Lynn Money, Mr Michael Taylor

Co-opted: The Revd John Fellows, Mrs Ginny Gilks, Mrs Liz Pollard, Canon Jane Spencer, Mr Andrew Wellbeloved

Dates of Meetings in 2017:-

Wednesday 15 March
Wednesday 21 June
Wednesday 8 November

The Board have a Standing Committee which meets between full Board meetings.


  • Going Deeper into God
  • Making New Disciples
  • Transforming Communities

Would you like to

Edit your details? Upload your MAP?