Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage
Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage

General Synod Elections 2021-2026

The General Synod was dissolved on 12 July and elections are currently underway.  The Diocese is required to elect FIVE representatives to the House of Laity and FIVE Proctors in Convocation.  The electorate is made up of all Clergy and Lay members of Deanery Synods as at 12 July.


List of Clergy Candidates and their Election Addresses

List of Lay Candidates and their Election Addresses

Timetable for elections:

Nominations are now closed.  There are sufficient nominations to require an election in both houses.

Voting will open on  Friday 17 September 2021.

The closing date for Voting will be one minute to midnight on Friday 8 October 2021.

The Count will take place during the w/c  11 October 2021. 

Informal Notice – General Synod Elections 2021

Hustings will take place via Zoom on 20th September (7pm, Laity) and 21st September (7pm, Clergy) and links for these have been sent to all members of the electorate.

The Presiding Officer is under a duty to supply details of the register of electors (including, if an elector has provided an e-mail address, that address) to candidates.  Details have been supplied in a secure (password protected) format and will be deleted by candidates once the election process is complete.

The electorate will have online access to a portal for the purpose of voting.  Anyone who has not received their access codes by Friday 17 September should contact the Diocesan Secretary’s PA at

Clergy Candidate Election Addresses

The Rev'd Richard Brown (no election address submitted)
The Rev'd Canon Dr Tim Bull
The Rev'd Christopher Bunce
The Rev'd John Chitham
The Rev'd Anne Crosby
The Rev'd Kaushal David
The Rev'd Paul Davies
The Rev'd Canon Kevin Goss
The Rev'd Canon David Hall
The Rev'd Jairo Nyaongo
The Rev'd Jonathan Stevens
The Rev'd Rachel Wakefield
The Rev'd Dr Nick Weir
The Rev'd Canon Teresa Wynne

Lay Candidate Election Addresses

Canon Peter Adams
Mr Anthony Archer
Dr Joan Bailey
Mrs Sheila Ann Bissell
Sir Timothy Clifford
Mr Tim Fleming
Mr Brian Garner
Ms Frances Holmes
Mr Will Horwood
Mr Ben John
Dr Jacob Kurien
Ms Rebecca Mynett
Miss Vuyelwa Nkomo
Mr David Roberts
Mr Bill Seddon
Mr Anderson Wade
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • Going Deeper into God
  • Making New Disciples
  • Transforming Communities