Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage
Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage

Mission & Pastoral Committee

The Mission and Pastoral Committee is a statutory body whose functions are set out in the Mission and Pastoral Measure 2011. The Committee’s primary work lies in making better provision for the cure of souls in the Diocese and in considering proposals for pastoral reorganisation.

The Committee is required:
• To review arrangements for pastoral supervision and care in the diocese or any part of it.
• To prepare strategies or proposals for carrying out the Committee’s functions for submission to the bishop and the diocesan synod for their approval.
• To maintain an overview of matters relating to church buildings in the diocese and their use.
• To make every endeavour to find a suitable alternative use or suitable alternative uses for churches which were proposed to be closed and buildings which have been closed for regular public worship in the diocese under a pastoral church buildings scheme.

In carrying out any of its functions, the Committee is to have regard to worship, mission and community as central to the life and work of the Church of England; and also to
(a) the financial implications for the diocese and the Church of England as a whole;
(b) the provision of appropriate spheres of work , conditions of service and reasonable remuneration for all those engaged in the cure of souls;
(c) the traditions, needs and characteristics of particular parishes; and
(d) any other aspects of the policies of the diocesan synod to which the synod has requested the Committee to have regard in discharging its responsibilities.

The Committee has adopted a Mission Action Plan in response to the diocesan vision of Living God’s Love.


Chair: The Bishop of Bedford

Ex-Officio: The Bishop of Bedford, The Archdeacon of St Albans, The Archdeacon of Bedford, The Archdeacon of Hertford

by the Diocesan Board of Finance – Mr R Lyne
by the Property Committee – Mr J Butler
by the Diocesan Advisory Committee – Mrs T Humber
by the Board for Church and Society – Mrs T Humber
by the Council for Discipleship and Ministry – Revd F Gibson
Representatives of the ecumenical structures for Herts & Beds – The Revd P Seymour and the Revd S Toze
Representative of the Methodist Church – The Revd A Hollins

House of Clergy – The Revd S Mansfield, the Revd L Williams, the Revd Nick Sharp, the Revd D Henley, the Revd F Gibson and the Revd C Ferris
House of Laity – Mr M Taylor, Mr A Packer, Mrs P Humber, Mrs K Smith, Mr J Edmundson (four vacancies)

Mission and Pastoral Committee Constitution

Dates of Meetings in 2018:

Thursday 8 February
Thursday 3 May
Thursday 19 July
Thursday 4 October
Thursday 13 December

DMPC meetings start at 10.00am.

The DMPC has one sub-committee – the Closed Churches Uses Committee.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • Going Deeper into God
  • Making New Disciples
  • Transforming Communities

Would you like to

Edit your details? Upload your MAP?