Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage
Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage

Vacancy in See Committee

At the General Synod in York in July 1993, the Vacancy in See Committees Regulation 1993 was formally confirmed and proclaimed as an Act of Synod. The Regulation replaces the Regulation of 1977 and makes provision for the membership and procedure of Vacancy in See Committees which are required to be in place in every diocese.

The Committee only meets when there is a vacancy in the See when it is responsible for preparing a description of the Diocese and a Statement of Needs.

Vacancy in See Committee Constitution


The Suffragan Bishops
The Dean
Two Archdeacons
The Proctors to Convocation, General Synod
The House of Laity members, General Synod
The Chairs of the two Diocesan Houses (Clergy and Laity)

Elected by the Archdeacons of the Diocese:
The Venerable J Mackenzie and the Venerable D Middlebrook

Elected by the Diocesan Synod:
The Revd F Gibson, The Revd D Brown, The Revd N Weir
Mrs R Campbell, Mr J Kurien, one vacancy (Archdeaconry of Bedford)

Nominated by the Bishop’s Council:
Mr J Robinson, Mr M Taylor, two vacancies


In attendance:
Diocesan Registrar
Diocesan Secretary



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • Going Deeper into God
  • Making New Disciples
  • Transforming Communities