Bookmark and Share

Millennium Development Goals

What are the Millennium Development Goals?

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight goals to be achieved by 2015, and are drawn from the actions and targets contained in the Millennium Declaration, a document which was adopted by 189 nations-and signed by 147 heads of state and governments during the UN Millennium Summit in September 2000.

The 8 MDGs are:

  • Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
    • Almost all the major NGO’s engage in work directly related to poverty reduction, and some particularly through trade such as Traidcraft
    • Christian Aid have recently launched a new campaign called Poverty Over 
  • Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
  • Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases

The 8 MDGs break down into 18 quantifiable targets that are measured by 48 indicators.



  • Going Deeper into God
  • Making New Disciples
  • Transforming Communities

Would you like to

Edit your details? Upload your MAP?