Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage
Living God's Love Values - Generosity, Joy, Imagination and Courage

World Development

According to UNICEF, up to 30,000 children die each day due to poverty.
They “die quietly in some of the poorest villages on earth, far removed from the scrutiny and the conscience of the world. Being meek and weak in life makes these dying multitudes even more invisible in death.”
Almost half the world — over three billion people — live on less than $2.50 a day.

“And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly, love mercy and walk humbly with your God” Micah 6:8


Millennium Development Goals

What are the Millennium Development Goals?

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight goals to be achieved by 2015, and are drawn from the actions and targets contained in the Millennium Declaration, a document which was adopted by 189 nations-and signed by 147 heads of state and governments during the UN Millennium Summit in September 2000.

The 8 MDGs are:


  • Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger. Almost all the major NGO’s engage in work directly related to poverty reduction, and some particularly through trade such as Traidcraft
  • Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
  • Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
  • Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
  • Goal 5: Improve maternal health
  • Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  • Goal 7: ‘Ensure Environmental sustainability’ read article by Diocesan Environment Officer, on MDG 7
  • Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development

    The 8 MDGs break down into 18 quantifiable targets that are measured by 48 indicators.

Useful Links

Background to Millenium Goals

Micah Challenge

Global Call to Action Against Poverty

End Poverty 2015 UN campaign

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • Going Deeper into God
  • Making New Disciples
  • Transforming Communities

Would you like to

Edit your details? Upload your MAP?